January 7, 2011

Snarking at Our 'Sacred' Constitution

Mollie Hemingway, Get Religion

AP Photo

At the start of each Congress, the House of Representatives and one-third of the Senate are sworn into office. Each member swears or affirms an oath to support the Constitution, per Article 6 of said Constitution (“The Senators and Representatives before mentioned … shall be bound by Oath or Affirmation, to support this Constitution.”) Since 1789, members have taken this oath. The current oath has been in use since the 1860s and goes like this:

Read Full Article ››

TAGGED: Congress, House of Representatives, Senate


May 10, 2012
The Priest From San Quentin in Congress
Nancy Haught, RN Service
After almost a year as chaplain of the U.S. House of Representatives, which The New York Times called "one of the most reviled congregations in the country," the Rev. Patrick Conroy was back in Portland, Ore., for a few days... more ››